The Bank structure comprises the following bodies:

  • Governing Council
  • Advisory Panel
  • The Board of Directors
  • Management

Governing Council

The Governing Council is the supreme governing body of the East African Development Bank as mandated by the Bank’s Charter. The Governing Council is composed of the Ministers of Finance of the Member States. The current members of the Governing Council are:


Hon. Matia Kasaija
Minister of Finance, Planning and Economic Development, Republic of Uganda

Dr. Phillip Mpango, Minister of Finance and Planning, URT

Hon. Philip Mpango
Minister of Finance and Planning, United Republic of Tanzania

Dr Uzziel

Dr. Uzziel Ndagijimana
Minister of Finance and Economic Planning, Republic of Rwanda


Hon. Amb. Ukur Yatani Kanacho
Acting Cabinet Secretary, National Treasury & Planning

Board of Directors

All powers of the Bank are, subject to the provisions of the Bank’s Charter, vested in the Board of Directors. The Board comprises Finance Permanent Secretaries of the member states, a representative from African Development Bank (AfDB), and four representatives from the member states’ private sectors. Members of the current board are:

Caleb Rwamuganza

Caleb Rwamuganza
Permanent Secretary/Secretary to the Treasury, Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning, Republic of Rwanda.


Keith Muhakanizi
Permanent Secretary and Secretary to the Treasury, Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development, Republic of Uganda


Dr. Julius Monzi Muia
Principal Secretary, The National Treasury, Republic of Kenya


Doto James
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, United Republic of Tanzania


Khadija I. Simba
Director Representing Tanzania (Private Sector Representative)


Francis Karuiru
Director representing Kenya (Private Sector Representative)


Faustin Mbundu
Director representing Rwanda (Private Sector Representative)


James Tumusiime
Director representing Uganda (Private Sector Representative)

Dr. Abdu

Dr. Abdu Mukhtar
Director –  Representing Africa Development Bank



Vivienne Yeda
Director General

CoU - Francis Ogwang

Francis Ogwang
Head of Business, Uganda


David Odongo
Ag. Head of Business, Rwanda


Loise Muigai
Ag. Head of Business, Kenya


Donald Sumary
Ag. Head of Business, Tanzania