The Bank’s shareholding was subsequently expanded with the joining of multilateral development financiers and commercial banks, including the African Development Bank (AfDB); the Netherlands Development Company (FMO); German Investment and Development Company (DEG); SBIC Africa Holdings, Commercial Bank of Africa, Standard Chartered Bank and Barclays Bank Plc as Class B (Institutional) shareholders. In 2008, Rwanda joined as the fourth Class A (Member State) shareholder.

Class A


Republic of Kenya


Republic of Rwanda


Republic of Uganda


United Republic of Tanzania

Class B

  • African Development Bank
  • FMO – Netherlands
  • DEG – Germany
  • Consortium of Yugoslav Institutions
  • SBIC – Africa Holdings
  • Commercial Bank of Africa, Nairobi
  • Nordea Bank Sweden, AB (publ)
  • Standard Chartered Bank, London
  • Barclays Bank PLC, London